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Online
Marketing Tales: In Search of the Cyber world EL Dorado
by Marvin Nolan Moore
Diary of an Online
Marketer:
My company has
spent thousands to produce our companies’ web site
We have the best
e-commerce solution to sell our products and track
inventories in real time
Our Web Trends
Report says we only had 200 user sessions this week, but
upon further review I discover that it is employees within
our company who are actually visiting the site. How many
times did I visit our homepage? I can’t remember.
Our web site is
on the search engines. I know this because when I type in
our company’s name on altavista.com our company appears.
But, search for a keyword like "our products"... I gave up
looking for our site after 30 or 40 pages.
The boss is all
over my "you-know-what" to produce leads and sales
I’ve finally
received an online advertising budget. Now what do I do?
The scenario above
is played out over and over as multitudes of businesses hit
the web in search of the cyber-world’s version of EL Dorado,
that mythical city where all is gold. It’s not going to
happen without careful planning and spending money on
marketing and advertising.
The Scarcity of Online Marketing Professionals
How many successful "brick and mortar" businesses have been
started without a business plan? I would say very few. Time
and time again, I receive calls from businesses wanting to
market their web site. My first question is always "Do you
have an online marketing plan and budget?" I’ve never heard
"yes we do".
The problem with creating an online marketing plan and
budget is the lack of expertise in the Internet medium. The
Internet exploded so fast that even educational institutions
are struggling to create curriculums that teach Internet
marketing and advertising strategies. There is a major
shortage of Internet Marketing professionals who have
experience. In most cases, traditional marketing
professionals have been sacrificed by their companies and
thrown into the Internet arena with no experience. The
question then becomes "When are they going to fail?" and not
"what if they fail?".
Let’s assume you do have an online marketing/advertising
plan and budget in place. What is the next step? I highly
recommend that if you do not have an experienced Internet
marketing professional on your roster, consider outsourcing
a company with a proven track record. You may want to hire a
management team to handle all of your online needs, at the
very least hire a seasoned Internet consultant to train your
staff. Or, you can always try to muddle through the
experience on your own.
A Tale of...Whoa! : Throwing Ad Dollars Down The Drain
I recently had a client who contracted my company, E-Base
Interactive, to handle all of their online marketing and
advertising responsibilities. What had happened was the
"usual". They had started a new dot.com company, were
heavily backed by VC, and had now spent an ungodly amount on
Internet advertising, with very little results.
The company had signed a multi-million dollar, 1-year
contract, with a well-known portal site catering to women.
The breakdown was paying $50 CPM (Cost Per Thousand
impressions) of their banner ads and includes a co-branded
web page. This relates to paying $0.05 each time their
banner is displayed, not even clicked on, just being viewed!
I performed a web site traffic and cost analysis for them
that still has me cringing. The company was receiving only a
0.43% CTR (Click Through Rate= total banner impressions/web
users). The harsh reality is the average CPC (Cost Per
Click=$spent/users) is $11.62! I broke their analysis down
even further to determine the CPL (Cost Per
Lead=$spent/leads). The company is receiving a 1.80% lead
ratio to web site visitors, which equates to costing $648.15
per lead generated.
Company’s One-Week Analysis:
868,520 impressions X $0.05 ea. (@ $50 CPM) = $43,426 3734
web visitors (868,520 X 0.43% CTR) $11.62 CPC ($43,426/3734)
67 leads for the week (filled out online form or called the
office)
Lead Ratio = 1.80% (67/3734)
$648.15 CPL ($43,426/67)
As I stated, the company signed a 1-year contract and still
has 4 months left to go at the time of this writing.
--A Tale of...Whew! : Smart Ad Spending Via
Pay-for-Performance--
As you saw in "The Tale of Whoa!" above, the company is in a
losing situation. I immediately created a new long-term
marketing plan and advertising strategy for them. Knowing
that they did not want to go down another dismal path, just
throwing their money away, I started an affiliate program
for them.
An Affiliate Program allows an advertiser to only pay for
performance. Basically, affiliates (web site owners or
companies) will advertise in return for monetary
compensation based on their performance. The compensation
for performance can be CPC, CPL or CPS (Cost per Sale). It
was determined that the company wanted to drive as much
traffic to the web site as possible, with the goal of
reaching 200,000 unique users per month within 6 months of
starting the affiliate program. We met that goal within 3
months. The affiliates are paid $0.10 per click and the
affiliate network provider earns $0.02 per click, bringing
the total to $0.12 per click. This is a far cry from paying
$11.62 per click as shown above.
Here is what happened in the fourth week after starting the
affiliate program:
177 Active Affiliates (web sites displaying the companies’
banner ads and text links) 314,408 ad impressions ($0.00 CPM)
9406 web site visitors 2.99% CTR (9406/314,408) CPC= $0.12
Total Cost: $1128.72 109 leads (1.16% Lead Ratio) CPL=$10.35
($1128.72/109)
At the time of this writing the company now has several
thousand affiliates and is receiving around 90,000 web site
visitors per week.
Online Success Can Be Achieved
Since the start of the World Wide Web, we’ve heard how
cost-effective online marketing can be. And though this is
true, there has to be an effective management team in place
and a solid plan of action. Online success can be achieved
with careful preparation and due diligence. Make the most of
your advertising dollars, do some research, attend a
seminar, hire the right professionals or outsource an
experienced management firm. There are several paths leading
to the Cyber EL Dorado. Which one are you on?
About the Author: Marvin Nolan Moore is a 5-year veteran of
online marketing and the VP of Internet Marketing for E-Base
Interactive, Inc. E-Base Interactive provides Internet
solutions and online marketing management services to
clients ranging from small businesses to Fortune 500
companies. Contact Marvin : marvin@ebaseinc.com and visit
his web site at: http://www.ebaseinteractive.com or [Ph:
877-306-8474]
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